Letter home from Private Finlay

This letter turned up in English class today. It must have escaped the censors:

C Company

Hertfordshire Regiment

Ypres

Belgium

4th June 1915

Dear Mum,

This war is getting bad. I got put on the front line on trench digging patrol. I sit by the weapons and usually I have to shoot at the Germans. The dinner is very bad, every day it’s stew. When I went on night patrol, Sammy tripped up and didn’t know where he was, so he went back and he got shot. I went on a night patrol and I had to play dead when the Germans walked past. I miss you and have a nice time. I will send another letter when I am on the back line.

Goodbye

Private Finlay

Leave a Reply

