Letter home from Private Angus

C Company

Hertfordshire Regiment

Ypres

Belgium

4th June 1915

Dear Mum and Dad,

Having been at the front line three weeks I’m feeling a mixture of boredom, terror and loneliness. A bullet impaled in my boot so hard that I had to go to hospital. After 2 days of being in hospital the doctor said that I should get back to the front line. He said we needed every man we could get. When I got back to the front line I was sad and shocked that my friend had died in No Man’s Land a brave death alas I hope he goes to heaven poor Alfie.

Yours sincerely

Private Angus

Leave a Reply

