Settings: Where in the world are we describing?

We did some speed writing this morning. Can you guess where we are describing?

I saw the gold, magnificent ornament crosses. The crowd was bustling like termites trying to make a nest. I could hear lots of languages, like American, Australian, Japanese, Chinese. The sun burnt my back as the hot rays touched my skin. (Alice)

The warm, golden sun was behind me and urged me to take my cardigan off. I can hear a Chinese man shouting impatiently and soldiers are telling him to “Shut up”. I glance up at the monster and admire its strong marble pillars And glass windows with platinum frames. The golden fence is as shiny as the moon. For some reason it reminds me of Italy – oh how I do miss my home country. I can now smell a cigar on the floor. A guard commands me to put it in the bin. All the way in London everyone is so excited!!! (Alfie)

It is a huge place, with huge oak tree wooden doors with about a thousand windows glittering in the sunlight. Everyone is talking loudly and is bustling about. You can hear babys crying loudly and tourists snapping away wildly on their cameras. Half the people I can hear don’t even talk English. I can hear Spanish, French, American, German, Japanese, Chinese and Polish. Around the edge of the building, which was as tall as about six giraffes was a gate with little golden statues. Suddenly the crowd gasped as we saw the Queen standing on the top of the balcony. Everyone cheers and then she goes quickly. I can hear the soldiers stamping their feet. (Isabelle)

Click here to see if you are right: http://bit.ly/kOTA8U

Leave a Reply

