Writing inspired by ‘The Highwayman’ by Grace

My name is Bess and I work for my father at the Three Lambs behind the bar. It only me and my father because my mother died of child birth. Sometimes its a bit lonely without mother because when I was born I remember her sweet hugs even though everyone never remembers being born. I do miss her so.

Anyway, one day I was sitting by the window when I heard someone whistling a tune. So I opened the window to see who it was. I was in the middle of plaiting my hair. It was a highwayman! It was love at first sight. He had silky black hair and a French cocked hat. So he said to me, “One kiss my bonny sweetheart, I’m after a prize tonight, but I shall be back with yellow gold before the morning light, yet if they press me sharply and harry me through the day, then look for me by moonlight, watch for me by moonlight, I’ll come to thee by moonlight, though hell should bar the way.” Those words were so beautiful. I shall remember them forever.

Leave a Reply

