Louisa’s War Diary – Enlistment day

Dear Diary,

Today I signed up for the war. This is what happened.

I walked down to the town hall and I signed up while my sister was signing up to work in the factory.

I got my uniform and a shilling and I was told to get changed straight away if I wanted to be one of the soldiers walking round the town.

My sister made me do it because she didn’t want me her brother to be someone with a white feather. I was OK and excited at the time especially about the shilling, but now I’m really scared.

When I was marching it was embarasing but it was worth the shilling, especially because it was Billy, Nick, Joe and me.

Harry

 

Leave a Reply

