Fin W’s Trench Diary

16th October 1916

Dear Diary,

This is a gruesome world, blood spewed everywhere the thick rough smell of gas and the filfth. I hate the feeling of grime and the greasy feeling in my hair. I’m starving all the food we get (not very much gets taken by the rats) I want to go home I miss you this war is going to be longer than I thought. I have a feeling next week is my turn to go over the top most people die when they go over the top and I’m not certain I will come back, the guns feel like they’ve tripled there weight and I lost my boots. Shells are like hell but the worst part isn’t the explosion, it’s the whistling beforehand not knowing where its going to land not knowing if you’ll live or this is where your going to end your life….

2 responses to “Fin W’s Trench Diary

  1. wow fin!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the description is really good at the start well done!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. I like the way you describe the senses!

Leave a Reply

