Touching the Void by Cerys

Suddenly I slipped and fell over. My leg had a horrible shooting pain through it. The snow storm had made it impossible to see where we were walking, I hadn’t noticed the edge of the crevasse  I called to Simon “Help. I think I have broken my leg.” Simon ran across to me and yanked a rope out of his backpack. He tied the rope around my waist and pulled me to my feet.

touchingvoidSimon followed behind as I limped in the snow trying to get back to base. As exhausted as I was, I was still trying my best to get back. The pain was unbearable, so I wasn’t concentrating on where I was treading. In a flash I tumbled into a precipice. I was terrified what was going to happen next.

I felt something go loose. I shouted to Simon “What’s happening?” There was no reply…. I tugged on my rope hoping to get Simon’s attention. Then a few seconds later the rope fell down before me.

I tried to find something in the snow to hold on to but I kept on like a distressed bird with a broken wing. Then as I was falling my life flashed before me I kept falling back until my head smashed against a freezing cold ice cave.

[Spellings amended by teacher]

3 responses to “Touching the Void by Cerys

  1. I remember doin this when i was in mounts!!!!
    (told u id leave a comment Mr H)

  2. i realy enjoyed you touching the void

Leave a Reply

