The Landlord’s Story by Libby (based on Alfred Noyes ‘The Highwayman’)

Let me tell you about when my daughter, Bess, met her end. rcoats

One gloomy night my Bess was upstairs in her room while I was in the cellars, looking for some more ale for tomorrow.But then I heard footsteps above me. I thought it must of just been Bess getting a drink, so I carried on dwelling through the cellars. But then I heard more than a couple of footsteps. I tried pushing the trap-door opento get out of the cellars but somebody was standing on it! I banged on the door and shouted “get me out!” But suddenly the wieght lifted off and the trapdoor swung open.

I ran upstairs and there was ale every where, chairs flipped over, mud all over the tables. I immediately grabbed a cloth and cleaned the tables furiously. But then I realised there were boot prints on the table. “Who danced on the table!?” I shouted. But suddenly I heard a gun shot from upstairs in Bess’s room.

I hurried upstairs and what did I see? Bess, covered in her own scarlet blood, slouched on a pillar with rope tied around her waist.

 

Leave a Reply

