Daily Archives: November 4, 2011

Recruitment by Rowan

3rd November 1914

I’m so excited! There’s a big buzz going around about the war and the recruitment officer. Tom’s signing up, so is Bill and if Bill’s going, I’m going. I can’t wait. But if I don’t sign up? Well, who knows what will happen? But it won’t happen to me. I can hear the drums. It’s starting, everybody pushing. Here comes the Recruitment sergeant, he is going into the Town Hall. There is a silence. Someone steps forward, then Tommy. Now there’s a queue . It’s my turn. I have now got my uniform and here’s the train. Now I’m scared. I want to run, laugh, cry and sleep all at the same time. I’m trying to find mum, but a Union Jack blocked my view. Here I go to punch the Hun on the nose for a shilling till Christmas. I don’t want this moment to end.